New Jersey, New York And Connecticut To Require Visitors From States With High COVID-19 Infection Rates To Quarantine For 14 Days

TRENTON (CBS/AP) — A travel advisory will go into effect Wednesday night in New Jersey for visitors traveling from other states with high coronavirus infection rates. New Jersey, Connecticut and New York will require visitors from states with significant COVID-19 community spread rates to quarantine for 14 days.

New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced the regional “travel advisory” on Wednesday at a briefing joined via video feed by New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy and Connecticut Gov. Ned Lamont.

“We now have to make sure the rates continue to drop,” Cuomo said. “We also have to make sure the virus doesn’t come on a plane again.”

Murphy said the states’ health departments will provide details on how the rule will work.

Cuomo said visitors from states over a set infection rate will have to quarantine.

As of Wednesday, states over the threshold included Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington, Utah and Texas.

© Copyright 2020 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.